Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Sc2 Beta

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1389 replies to this topic

#881
Toasted

Toasted
  • Members
  • 200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington, UK
QUOTE (Alexc26 @ May 2 2010, 12:36 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You could have a few goes against the CPU, its set to very easy so they will rarely attack you so you can practice with units and try out things etc.


yeah, playing against AI helps you perfect early build orders like reaper harass or early zealot/zergling rush


Damn, i just shot Marvin in the face... - Vincent Vega

#882
Bl!ndf!re

Bl!ndf!re
  • Members
  • 1,217 posts
  • xfire:tehlickerer
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
do any other z's ever use muta's? I feel like they take longer to tech to than in scI and kind of lost their effectiveness


QUOTE (Husky @ Mar 31 2010, 04:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
A couple of Mutas softened up to the red, a couple of other Mutas softened up to the black, cause they're dead.

QUOTE (slartibartfast of earth @ Sep 28 2010, 08:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ps my disablity in my hands makes my typing crap sry

QUOTE (PwnDaddy123 @ Mar 31 2010, 04:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'd hit it tbh. Especially if it's dead.

#883
bloodvayne

bloodvayne
  • Members
  • 4,038 posts
  • xfire:killercowld
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NC
  • Xbox / GFWL:bloodvayne360
  • PSN:killercow_ld
  • Wii:1681832568364918
I didn't know I could play against AI

Tested one round out, the enemy AI spawned the field beside me so it was over quick, and I just messed around with units and buildings and stuff figuring out what does what.

But I'm just so slow, I was slow at SC1 as well what little I played.
Any tips on speeding my game up?

#884
UDP

UDP

    Most Helpful Member '09 | The Community Contributor

  • GA Private
  • 5,316 posts
  • xfire:XUndeadPersonX
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Wii:3868004744953407
  • Rofl-Rupees:6
  • Gamer Army ID:3683
  • Company:Bravo
QUOTE (bloodvayne @ May 2 2010, 12:18 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I didn't know I could play against AI

Tested one round out, the enemy AI spawned the field beside me so it was over quick, and I just messed around with units and buildings and stuff figuring out what does what.

But I'm just so slow, I was slow at SC1 as well what little I played.
Any tips on speeding my game up?

Learn some build orders. That way you know exactly when to build what, at least for the start of the game.

QUOTE (Bl!ndf!re @ May 2 2010, 11:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
do any other z's ever use muta's? I feel like they take longer to tech to than in scI and kind of lost their effectiveness

I use them like every game. I find them to be pretty good, most people don't seem to get a ton of anti-air units so it's pretty much over if you get a bunch of mutas out.

helpfulh.jpg
Sig1.jpg

Yeah, he doesn't understand. It's not your post count, it's MAKING YOUR POSTS COUNT!

 


#885
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
Same. I use Mutas most of the time. Even if it's just to force some anti-air, but usually they are useful throughout the game.

I use them loads in ZvZ too.

#886
TheShadowNinja

TheShadowNinja
  • Members
  • 5,200 posts
  • xfire:cipher5006
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami, Florida, US
  • PSN:Kithlan
So I gots me an extra beta key from the Invite-a-friend invites they sent out.
Anyone want?

EDIT: NVM, been claimed.

Edited by TheShadowNinja, 02 May 2010 - 04:54 PM.


TheShadowNinja
Crap IT Security

#887
LysIs514

LysIs514

    Best RTS Contributor '09

  • Members
  • 670 posts
You need a spire in zvt... Mutas are pretty situational though. It forces them to make marines, or thors if they go mech.

AltCtrl: if i was gonna play ra3 i might as well go play wizard 101 too

#888
Bl!ndf!re

Bl!ndf!re
  • Members
  • 1,217 posts
  • xfire:tehlickerer
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
QUOTE (LysIs514 @ May 2 2010, 05:27 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You need a spire in zvt... Mutas are pretty situational though. It forces them to make marines, or thors if they go mech.

I always go spire to get corrupters but if feels like by the time i get mutas out they easily have air defenses


next game ill try to go mutas as fast as possible and see how they work


QUOTE (Husky @ Mar 31 2010, 04:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
A couple of Mutas softened up to the red, a couple of other Mutas softened up to the black, cause they're dead.

QUOTE (slartibartfast of earth @ Sep 28 2010, 08:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ps my disablity in my hands makes my typing crap sry

QUOTE (PwnDaddy123 @ Mar 31 2010, 04:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'd hit it tbh. Especially if it's dead.

#889
LysIs514

LysIs514

    Best RTS Contributor '09

  • Members
  • 670 posts
QUOTE (Bl!ndf!re @ May 2 2010, 02:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I always go spire to get corrupters but if feels like by the time i get mutas out they easily have air defenses


next game ill try to go mutas as fast as possible and see how they work


Doesn't work. If they go for fast vikings, your spire will probably pop up by the time 4 of your overlords are dead.

AltCtrl: if i was gonna play ra3 i might as well go play wizard 101 too

#890
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
Argh!! Force Field is so broken........

It seems like any Toss with anything more than a basic knowledge of what micro is can, with a 90 supply army, completely rape a 200/200 Zerg army with upgrades.

It wouldn't be such a problem if it didn't completely render units useless because of the stupid AI, you can't even move your lings around FFs properly, they just get stuck back on the FF and each other, running in circles. Hydras and Roaches just decide not to fire at all and just dance back and fourth, even with proper commands and target firing.

I hate the fact that, even if you set up a perfect flank with your lings and target fire properly, they can just drop FF right on top of the lings and it PUSHES THEM BACKWARDS! So even with good positioning your units are useless. How broken is that?!?

So, you move in with a massive army, he drops some decent FFs, but you can't pull back, because SC2 doesn't work that way. You can't back out of battles. Not only can units fire while moving, which makes backing out very costly anyway, but Protoss can just drop FF behind your slower, more valuable units, again blocking them and killing them for free..

Ah man... ZvP is my best matchup and I don't have any problems taking down most Ps, except when you come across someone who's heard of FF, then it's just ridiculous on most maps.

/rant

Edited by j type, 02 May 2010 - 10:01 PM.


#891
Plasmic Fury

Plasmic Fury

    Best Game Reviewer 08 & 09 | Best Console Contributor '0

  • Members
  • 5,912 posts
  • xfire:Plasmic Fury
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greater Toronto Area
  • Xbox / GFWL:Plasmic Fury
  • PSN:Too much $$$
  • Wii:Piece of Shit
  • Rofl-Rupees:3
Started playing today. I am an absolute noob but am winning the beginner matches. Having fun so far. I find it's a little slow though.

#892
Ineffable

Ineffable

    Gimme dat chawklit!

  • Global Moderators
  • 7,206 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NSW, Australia
  • PSN:Ineff_
QUOTE (Plasmic Fury @ May 3 2010, 03:29 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Started playing today. I am an absolute noob but am winning the beginner matches. Having fun so far. I find it's a little slow though.

If you play practice matches, it's slow.

#893
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
Terran has the best music in this game. There is no question about this is there?

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#894
Alexc26

Alexc26
  • GA Private
  • 2,082 posts
  • xfire:Alexc26
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Steam ID:Alexc26
  • Xbox / GFWL:Alexc26
  • PSN:Alexc26
  • Rofl-Rupees:13
  • Gamer Army ID:4614
  • Company:Gamma
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ May 3 2010, 06:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Terran has the best music in this game. There is no question about this is there?


HELL YEAH, the music is awesome : P

#895
Intraframe

Intraframe
  • Members
  • 3,142 posts
  • xfire:mark101mmmmd
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto Canada
  • Interests:Games (obviously), fps, rts, and a few RPG's Also enjoy soccer, both playing and watching.
  • Steam ID:Intraframe
  • Wii:5242563695984198
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ May 3 2010, 06:06 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Terran has the best music in this game. There is no question about this is there?


no where near as good as the original though
Come at me bro

#896
Sir Kyle Aziz

Sir Kyle Aziz
  • Members
  • 6,812 posts
  • xfire:kyleaziz0uchihaitachi
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kingston
  • Xbox / GFWL:DDR Aziz
  • Rofl-Rupees:7
QUOTE (Intraframe @ May 3 2010, 01:01 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
no where near as good as the original though


This.

An sorry about my promise Bloodvayne if you're reading this.

#897
Bl!ndf!re

Bl!ndf!re
  • Members
  • 1,217 posts
  • xfire:tehlickerer
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
QUOTE (LysIs514 @ May 2 2010, 08:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Doesn't work. If they go for fast vikings, your spire will probably pop up by the time 4 of your overlords are dead.

sad face

someone esplain muta timing to me if they are even worthless as they come out

(just so u know im only like a rank 20 in a copper league, but then again 2 other people completely new to starcraft universe coming from playing 24/7 halo are playing on it

Edited by Bl!ndf!re, 03 May 2010 - 04:07 PM.



QUOTE (Husky @ Mar 31 2010, 04:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
A couple of Mutas softened up to the red, a couple of other Mutas softened up to the black, cause they're dead.

QUOTE (slartibartfast of earth @ Sep 28 2010, 08:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ps my disablity in my hands makes my typing crap sry

QUOTE (PwnDaddy123 @ Mar 31 2010, 04:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'd hit it tbh. Especially if it's dead.

#898
Jengerer

Jengerer

    2009 Softest Hair Winner & Best Staff

  • Retired Staff
  • 3,243 posts
  • xfire:Jengerer
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario
  • Interests:Video games. Who knew?
  • Steam ID:Jengerer
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
  • Gamer Army ID:4485
Terran music is amazing and my favourite. Zerg changes the theme of the whole game very effectively, though; very eerie.

Also, canceled my Future Shop order and biked down to EB Games and got my key. Let'z play.

#899
LysIs514

LysIs514

    Best RTS Contributor '09

  • Members
  • 670 posts
If you go mutas you need 3 or 4 gas to get a decent amount (5 mutas 1shot probes and drones and marines and scvs. 7 to 1shot upgraded marines) depending on if you want roaches and/or hydras to defend. Therefore, you need an expansion.

If you get an expansion, you can guarantee that your spire won't even be finished when the terran has some vikings out hunting overlords, or banshees killing your shit, if they went fast starport, which is a legit opening. So if they haven't expanded and you want mutas for whatever reason (eg, to make him not have almighty balls of marauders), get a hydraden and upgrade ovie speed as soon as your lair finishes.

Edited by LysIs514, 03 May 2010 - 04:20 PM.


AltCtrl: if i was gonna play ra3 i might as well go play wizard 101 too

#900
rugmonkey

rugmonkey
  • Members
  • 1,696 posts
  • xfire:rugmonkey
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, UK
Woot got into beta. (Thank you j type) Not going to play much for now but will do after my exams. Time to decide if I like terran in SC2. Thinking not. Will play random to start with.
Rugmonkey
Crap IT HR
We are the all singing, all dancing crap of the world.
"Starcraft is one of man's greatest inventions. It's somewhere between penicillin and the flushing toilet"-Tasteless




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users