Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Quake Live Open Beta

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
616 replies to this topic

#21
ATx 4 Life

ATx 4 Life
  • Members
  • 344 posts
  • xfire:ATx
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:ATx
  • Xbox / GFWL:ATx I Pwnstar
Right after posting that I went to quakelive.com and it worked like a charm. Never played quake before but pwned up on the bot. Went online played a duel and now its not working haha.. I love the concept and how much effort they put into a free game. Makes you wonder why they don't put half as much thought or effort into games you pay for.

#22
The Colonel

The Colonel

    The Ghost of Christmas Past

  • Retired Staff
  • 7,150 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Noone knows
  • Rofl-Rupees:5
You do realize Quake Live...is essentially a port of Quake 3, right?
And like that, he was gone.

#23
ATx 4 Life

ATx 4 Life
  • Members
  • 344 posts
  • xfire:ATx
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:ATx
  • Xbox / GFWL:ATx I Pwnstar
ya i know but the interface itself is a lot more intuitive than most...

#24
Suoinoleht

Suoinoleht
  • Members
  • 281 posts
  • xfire:suoinoleht
  • Gender:Male
  • Steam ID:Suoinoleht
  • Xbox / GFWL:Suoinoleht
When you say the numbers don't mean much... consider the launch of most betas compared to a stable group of one of the most active games, community-wise, during a hotspot concentration of gamers. It's not as significant as I try to make it sound, but it means a lot more than you might think.
Professional Ruiner of Threads:
Degenerates every thread posted in to angry idiots yelling at angry idiots

#25
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
QUOTE (Suoinoleht @ Feb 26 2009, 05:38 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When you say the numbers don't mean much... consider the launch of most betas compared to a stable group of one of the most active games, community-wise, during a hotspot concentration of gamers. It's not as significant as I try to make it sound, but it means a lot more than you might think.


Agreed.

Also, I don't know about you guys, but I didn't see that much advertising for it. The only place I saw anything about it, was on IGN and it was just a little feature in the PC gaming section on the day of 'release'. Having said that, I've never really played Quake games before and never really looked out for them, so that might explain why I might have missed a big TF2-esque ad campaign.

#26
raw_genesis

raw_genesis

    The Flaming Homo of the year '09

  • Members
  • 3,655 posts
  • xfire:rawgenesis
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunny Coast, Australia
  • Interests:the ladies ;D
  • Steam ID:raw_genesis
  • Xbox / GFWL:ex bawks
  • PSN:pee ess tripple
  • Wii:Weeeeeeee!!!
  • Rofl-Rupees:7
Yeah it was a great game until it became open beta....



QUOTE (Shaun. @ Apr 28 2009, 09:42 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
AAAAA+++++++++++++++ GREAT SERVICE AND GOOD PACKAGE. WOULD BANG AGAIN

#27
Tree_

Tree_

    <3's You Guys

  • Retired Staff
  • 15,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Rofl-Rupees:1
Yeah, if this queuing shit aint gone before i'm uncapped I aint gonna be too happy.

#28
KuroFalcon

KuroFalcon

    Best Overall Poster 08

  • GA Corporal
  • 7,232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind Your Monitor
  • Steam ID:Winzx12
  • Gamer Army ID:2992
  • Company:Pi
Achievements aye icon_biggrin.gif

I must look into this some more!

QUOTE (Mares @ Aug 22 2008, 08:04 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
kuro is MY LOVABOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


#29
Tree_

Tree_

    <3's You Guys

  • Retired Staff
  • 15,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Rofl-Rupees:1
Anyone got a list of the achievements... I wana see if any of them are bullshit, icon_lol.gif

#30
Jaziek

Jaziek
  • Members
  • 652 posts
  • xfire:theflyingburgess
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunderland - UK
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
You will begin playing shortly,

you are in queue postion 574688


what the fuck is their definition of shortly icon_biggrin.gif

^^ UNION FLAGGAN! DONT FUCKING MESS WITH THE UK! ^^

#31
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
QUOTE (Jaziek @ Feb 26 2009, 12:44 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You will begin playing shortly,

you are in queue postion 574688


what the fuck is their definition of shortly icon_biggrin.gif


Hehe! Yeah, I know..

Well, the queue system shouldn't be there for much longer. icon_smile.gif

#32
Tree_

Tree_

    <3's You Guys

  • Retired Staff
  • 15,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Rofl-Rupees:1
QueuingLive

#33
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
QUOTE (Shaun. @ Feb 26 2009, 01:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I got an achievement for adding a friend.


You can see that they're really encouraging us to aim high.

#34
KuRRopT

KuRRopT
  • Members
  • 384 posts
  • xfire:pzycho112
  • Location:Denmark
  • Xbox / GFWL:KuRRopT
  • PSN:QuakeLive: KuRRopT
Haven't had the chance to play yet, seeing as my gaming rig ain't feeling too well. Guess I'll have to check if my old rig can run QL sometimes next week.

Did try to login though and all I can say is: OMGWTFBBQUEUE. I thought being number 200 in the queue on WoW was bad...



Pwning is my business, and business is GOOD!


#35
Tree_

Tree_

    <3's You Guys

  • Retired Staff
  • 15,518 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Rofl-Rupees:1
QUOTE (KuRRopT @ Feb 27 2009, 01:11 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Guess I'll have to check if my old rig can run QL sometimes next week.

Shouldn't have a problem with it.

#36
KuRRopT

KuRRopT
  • Members
  • 384 posts
  • xfire:pzycho112
  • Location:Denmark
  • Xbox / GFWL:KuRRopT
  • PSN:QuakeLive: KuRRopT
QUOTE (Tree_ @ Feb 26 2009, 03:20 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Shouldn't have a problem with it.


You don't know the horror that is my old rig... Used it in the Q3 days though.


Pwning is my business, and business is GOOD!


#37
Cypher.bleu

Cypher.bleu
  • Members
  • 1,264 posts
  • xfire:wilsonwws
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:DUBAI!!
HOLY FUCK, lol

Position in queue: 606533

#38
Destructor

Destructor
  • Members
  • 2,532 posts
  • Location:East coast, U.S.A.
  • Interests:Video Gaming (PC mostly, also arcade shmups)<br />Chess<br />Linux/computers<br />Sci-fi (Dune, Star Wars, whatever)<br />Martial Arts<br />Philosophy
  • Steam ID:Destruct0r
  • PSN:kracine
  • Wii:5323779916910511
QUOTE (H17M4N @ Feb 25 2009, 10:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Damn, I hope they release it eventually, cuz this is unusual since Id supported mods a lot of times.
But I understand, it's a new programming language, supporting mods may appear difficult for javascript.

haha what? Quake Live runs on a modified Quake 3 engine. That's the plugin that you download to your computer before you can play. When iD says the game is "browser-based" they don't mean the game is entirely written in javascript (which would be ridiculous and nigh-impossible by the way), they mean that it launches FROM your browser. The website launches the actual game from your own hard drive, but keeps track of stats and all that. It's basically a front-end for the game.
Current blog entry: The Future of Gaming According to Bobby Kotick
You are Likely to be Eaten by a Grue

#39
dvide

dvide
  • Members
  • 652 posts
apparently it's their highest priority now to scale up and get rid of the queue altogether
http://www.quakelive...ead.php?t=11816

i just hope it hasn't discouraged newbies to the point where they will never return

#40
Jaziek

Jaziek
  • Members
  • 652 posts
  • xfire:theflyingburgess
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sunderland - UK
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
this is just hilariously bad now.
Got in after 1 hour of queuing, no games showing because their game tracking server is down as well, go to play a game with bots, crash, when I restart ff, I need to play the freakin skill level match with crash again, despite my profile showing that I've already played several proper matches. icon_rolleyes.gif

^^ UNION FLAGGAN! DONT FUCKING MESS WITH THE UK! ^^




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Google (1)