Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Channels

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
xCarnosaurx

xCarnosaurx
  • Banned
  • 180 posts
  • xfire:xcarnosaurx
  • Location:New zealand
  • Interests:Games
  • Xbox / GFWL:pwnah
This is 2 questions.

I am playing hitman for the first time. The first hitman. In the options their is a sound option called channels. It is by default 8 but it can go from 3 to 10. When I play the game (I have only been halfway threw the tutorial level) the voices only work for the starting cutscene and a couple of seconds after. Also when I fire weapons the noise of the gun fire is cut out by caseings hitting the ground. I assume that channels are the amount of different sounds playing at once. But its at 8, the default. How can it have trouble with that? Does the voice get cut out by other sounds? And gun fire seems to be alot quieter than the music, which doesnt seem to turn down. what do I have to do? is it to do with channels? is my computer too crappy to run it?

And what are channels? Do games normally have this option?

thanxyous

#2
Jaypur

Jaypur
  • Members
  • 235 posts
QUOTE (xCarnosaurx @ Dec 14 2007, 03:21 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is 2 questions.

I am playing hitman for the first time. The first hitman. In the options their is a sound option called channels. It is by default 8 but it can go from 3 to 10. When I play the game (I have only been halfway threw the tutorial level) the voices only work for the starting cutscene and a couple of seconds after. Also when I fire weapons the noise of the gun fire is cut out by caseings hitting the ground. I assume that channels are the amount of different sounds playing at once. But its at 8, the default. How can it have trouble with that? Does the voice get cut out by other sounds? And gun fire seems to be alot quieter than the music, which doesnt seem to turn down. what do I have to do? is it to do with channels? is my computer too crappy to run it?

And what are channels? Do games normally have this option?

thanxyous



i had something like that on HL2, i dunno how hitman is, but put the most simple sound, like 2 speakers i dunno...


good luck!

#3
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
Try turning the number of channels up. Audigy 2s support 64 and X-Fis support 128, if I remember correctly.

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#4
Guest_ThE_MarD_*

Guest_ThE_MarD_*
  • Guests
Heyyo,

Sound channels are the different sound feeds that a computer can process. So if you're playing a game, more the merrier.

Example, walking sounds, gun shooting, guy screaming, music in background .. that's four different sounds requirirng four different sound channels in order to play them all at the same time. Now, you add in more stuff like for example, on Team Fortress 2, you have all those players running around shooting guns and the players shouting.. takes a lot of sound channels. icon_wink.gif

#5
KuroFalcon

KuroFalcon

    Best Overall Poster 08

  • GA Corporal
  • 7,232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind Your Monitor
  • Steam ID:Winzx12
  • Gamer Army ID:2992
  • Company:Pi
The_MarD Speaks the truth

and if you think that Hitman codename 47 is good wait till you play the rest


QUOTE (Mares @ Aug 22 2008, 08:04 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
kuro is MY LOVABOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


#6
xCarnosaurx

xCarnosaurx
  • Banned
  • 180 posts
  • xfire:xcarnosaurx
  • Location:New zealand
  • Interests:Games
  • Xbox / GFWL:pwnah
Thanx guys for the explaination.

I worked out the problem:) it doesnt seem to be the channels. That seems fine left at the default (icon_cool.gif. It was this option called hardware and EAX. I turned that off and the sound works fine. I can hear the voices and gunfire. Only werid thing was it lagged a bit in the first cutscene.

Sorry for not working that out sooner. Can someone explain to me what it means by hardware?

This is my first hitman experiance and I love it so far.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users