Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Need Computer Help!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
Corupzet

Corupzet
  • Members
  • 18 posts
Alright guys I got my new rig 2 weeks or so, and just recently some annoying problems have came up. First of all the computer gets stuck at the screen that advertises the mobo for around 5 minutes, and then takes another 2 and a half minutes to get into the log in screen. Then, about an hour into running the computer, I open up media player, winamp, guitar pro etc and the whole thing freezes up.

So following this I ran Anti virus, Spybot, Adaware, Defragged the harddrives, cleaned the harddrives, ran CC cleaner, deleted unnecessary programs and used system restore to no avail. Anyway you may be thinking my hardware isn't powerful enough or somthing, so I'll give you my specs:

8800 gt 512mb
Q6600 2.4GHZ
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L
2GB CORSAIR 6400
VEIWSONIC 19INCH
500GB SATA2 HD
SONATA 3 SILENT TOWER

The computer worked fine on arrival (yes I had it prebuilt) and the startup time was 20 seconds or so with absolutely no freeze ups. A few days later I went to a LAN party filled up my harddrives with anime, movies, music and shit and it worked fine. A week later this happens!
Now I'm thinking I might of gotten a virus or a Trojan downloading cracks/key gens that all this software somehow missed. Either that or I somehow ended up receiving hardware that goes defect a week after purchase >_>. So I'm driven to the point where I'm going to have reinstall the operating system to fix this which will be a pain in the ass. Obviously this is where you guys come in xD. As always help is much appreciated.

Edit: I forgot to mention I have no programs running on startup.. wtfux.

#2
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Staying stuck at the mobo splash screen for a long time would indicate a hardware problem.. Can you go into the BIOS to see what clockspeed the CPU is running at?

An idea might be getting this: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/
And doing an off-OS virus check. You can also check your harddrives with it.


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#3
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
interesting, being stuck at the POST screen.
go into task manager, hit view->show kernal times and see if the red line is doing anything with the comp idle. Then get a few apps going and see where the red line goes.

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#4
Corupzet

Corupzet
  • Members
  • 18 posts
Unfortunately accessing from the start screen is impossible, it just freezes until it reaches the windows loading screen.
However I've started downloading UBCD =]

#5
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Corupzet @ Dec 10 2007, 08:12 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Unfortunately accessing from the start screen is impossible, it just freezes until it reaches the windows loading screen.


gunna do what i suggested or not?
it'll give a good indication of a hardware error

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#6
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Uhm, how is he gonna get into task manager if windows won't load?


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#7
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Corupzet @ Dec 10 2007, 06:52 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
So following this I ran Anti virus, Spybot, Adaware, Defragged the harddrives, cleaned the harddrives, ran CC cleaner, deleted unnecessary programs and used system restore to no avail.


if he can do that without booting into windows i'm reasonably impressed

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#8
Corupzet

Corupzet
  • Members
  • 18 posts
Okay by idle I assume you mean no programs running.. When it's idol the redline is down the bottom cpu usage is 1-3%. When I run crysis it's at 24-31% and the red line has risen.

In regards to this
"Unfortunately accessing BIOS from the start screen is impossible, it just freezes until it reaches the windows loading screen."

I'm typing from the aforementioned computer. I can login in, it just takes a long time.

#9
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
QUOTE (Corupzet @ Dec 10 2007, 02:12 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Unfortunately accessing from the start screen is impossible, it just freezes until it reaches the windows loading screen.

I thought he was saying that it wasn't getting past the windows loading screen here.. icon_smile.gif

CMOS reset?


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#10
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Corupzet @ Dec 10 2007, 08:38 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Okay by idle I assume you mean no programs running.. When it's idol the redline is down the bottom cpu usage is 1-3%. When I run crysis it's at 24-31% and the red line has risen.


hmm, not really pointing towards a failed piece of hardware.
give CMOS a reset and see where that puts you

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#11
Corupzet

Corupzet
  • Members
  • 18 posts
Reset CMOS to fail safe, then optimized. Did absolutely nothing =/

#12
Corupzet

Corupzet
  • Members
  • 18 posts
bumpz

#13
KuroFalcon

KuroFalcon

    Best Overall Poster 08

  • GA Corporal
  • 7,232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind Your Monitor
  • Steam ID:Winzx12
  • Gamer Army ID:2992
  • Company:Pi
ehhh... you bumbed it 8 hours brian.png

QUOTE (Mares @ Aug 22 2008, 08:04 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
kuro is MY LOVABOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


#14
KuroFalcon

KuroFalcon

    Best Overall Poster 08

  • GA Corporal
  • 7,232 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Behind Your Monitor
  • Steam ID:Winzx12
  • Gamer Army ID:2992
  • Company:Pi
QUOTE (Curtains @ Dec 12 2007, 08:10 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Get a Mac.


Please dont make useless posts liek this brian.png

QUOTE (Mares @ Aug 22 2008, 08:04 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
kuro is MY LOVABOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


#15
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Curtains @ Dec 12 2007, 04:10 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Get a Mac.


install linux, its 1,852.45% better than OSX at everything except sucking dick


@OP
try booting safe mode maybz?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#16
ovt123

ovt123
  • Members
  • 244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney
  • Interests:Computers haha and socialising in RL
mmm this is a tricky one.

Maybe try a memtest over night. Google it, burn it to cd, boot, let it run.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users