Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Lan problem

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
Im so horny

Im so horny
  • Members
  • 369 posts
  • xfire:jesuspwnu
  • Location:Qc FTW
  • Interests:Gaming, Flash, Modding cpu, Tennis having good time with my friends :D
  • PSN:too expensive
  • Wii:Not yet :(
Hello i would like to make a lan with a friend but he's too dumb to buy a router so i wonder if its feseable to make one without any router using a direct wired connection. If yes, how?

#2
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Cross-wired cable. All you need.


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#3
Im so horny

Im so horny
  • Members
  • 369 posts
  • xfire:jesuspwnu
  • Location:Qc FTW
  • Interests:Gaming, Flash, Modding cpu, Tennis having good time with my friends :D
  • PSN:too expensive
  • Wii:Not yet :(
Kk and how do i set it up after i get the cable ? O.O

#4
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Just set each NIC to obtain an IP adress automatically.


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#5
Im so horny

Im so horny
  • Members
  • 369 posts
  • xfire:jesuspwnu
  • Location:Qc FTW
  • Interests:Gaming, Flash, Modding cpu, Tennis having good time with my friends :D
  • PSN:too expensive
  • Wii:Not yet :(
Who's NIC?

#6
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Network Interface Card


Why am I even trying..


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#7
Im so horny

Im so horny
  • Members
  • 369 posts
  • xfire:jesuspwnu
  • Location:Qc FTW
  • Interests:Gaming, Flash, Modding cpu, Tennis having good time with my friends :D
  • PSN:too expensive
  • Wii:Not yet :(
-_- Im not a pro of wiring n stuff like that but there's no point in saying that. annyway thx for the help

#8
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Weiman @ Jun 24 2007, 05:16 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Just set each NIC to obtain an IP adress automatically.


Bahahaha no, FAIL
Crossover cable = no DHCP = set IP manually (assuming you're not running windows server edition)

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#9
Guest_Sethasstor_*

Guest_Sethasstor_*
  • Guests
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Jun 25 2007, 02:39 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Bahahaha no, FAIL
Crossover cable = no DHCP = set IP manually (assuming you're not running windows server edition)


Well if he had an extra network card lying around he could just bridge the two connections, run the crossover cable out of the extra NIC, plug it into the other PC and not have to set anything

#10
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Sethasstor @ Jun 25 2007, 08:47 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Well if he had an extra network card lying around he could just bridge the two connections, run the crossover cable out of the extra NIC, plug it into the other PC and not have to set anything


Not sure exactly what you're saying there, mind drawing a topological diagram for me plz? k thnx

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#11
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Jun 25 2007, 08:39 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Bahahaha no, FAIL
Crossover cable = no DHCP = set IP manually (assuming you're not running windows server edition)


SRSLY? Well I've never tried it only saw it in action.. assumed that automatic is the way to go.


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#12
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Weiman @ Jun 25 2007, 09:52 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
SRSLY? Well I've never tried it only saw it in action.. assumed that automatic is the way to go.


Well if you think about it, both systems trying to obtain an IP addresss but where are the addresses being handed out?
Try doing it no IP your system will revert to the default IP scheme which i think is 169.254.251.x and will return a limited or no connectivity error
So yeah you either need a router or an OS that can run DHCP like windows server 2003 (system ive been messing with for the last month or so, lots of fun tools and gadgets)

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#13
Raw Nerve

Raw Nerve
  • Members
  • 27 posts
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Jun 25 2007, 10:32 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Well if you think about it, both systems trying to obtain an IP addresss but where are the addresses being handed out?
Try doing it no IP your system will revert to the default IP scheme which i think is 169.254.251.x and will return a limited or no connectivity error
So yeah you either need a router or an OS that can run DHCP like windows server 2003 (system ive been messing with for the last month or so, lots of fun tools and gadgets)


looks like we got a 1337 h4x0r here.




#14
Guest_Rossco_*

Guest_Rossco_*
  • Guests
Yeah, damn you! And your 7s in engineering and calculus!

#15
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Rossco @ Jun 26 2007, 08:25 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Yeah, damn you! And your 7s in engineering and calculus!


Hey, i cant help it if im good at math

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users