Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Overclocking for a Dual-Core

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
ZiM!

ZiM!
  • Members
  • 231 posts
  • xfire:zim389
Hey, I was wondering if anyone had any good overclocking software for a multi-core processor sine nTune doesn't support it. Thanks in advance.

#2
piggyspizza

piggyspizza
  • Members
  • 3,170 posts
  • xfire:piggyspizza
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Interests:Guitar<br />Gaming<br />Computers<br />Friends
  • Xbox / GFWL:Shwanzig
  • Wii:7168706976063002
Yawlz?

Don't use software for the love of god it suck massive cock in the horse's ass.
iconrtfm1mo.gif iconrtfm1mo.gif iconrtfm1mo.gif iconrtfm1mo.gif iconrtfm1mo.gif
Use your god damn BIOS, you have a BIOS for a reason
QUOTE
Crysis isn't a game, it's a benchmark.

#3
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
What piggy said: use the BIOS to overclock it

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#4
ZiM!

ZiM!
  • Members
  • 231 posts
  • xfire:zim389
My BIOS doesn't have the "Adjust Chipset Settings" under performance. It only has an option to turn overclocking on/off and let software do the rest. Bottom line, my BIOS sucks.

#5
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
What mobo and CPU specs?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#6
ZiM!

ZiM!
  • Members
  • 231 posts
  • xfire:zim389
Dell XPS 710
Processor: Intel® Core™2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS

#7
piggyspizza

piggyspizza
  • Members
  • 3,170 posts
  • xfire:piggyspizza
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Interests:Guitar<br />Gaming<br />Computers<br />Friends
  • Xbox / GFWL:Shwanzig
  • Wii:7168706976063002
QUOTE (ZiM! @ Jun 11 2007, 11:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Dell XPS 710
Processor: Intel® Core™2 CPU 6600 @ 2.40GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2046MB RAM
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GS

Build a computer then overclock

Bottom line is Software for CPU overclocking is as about reliable as Komet's volts wagon beetle thingy

Plus the E6600 is one of the most powerful CPU's you should be fine for meow
QUOTE
Crysis isn't a game, it's a benchmark.

#8
ZiM!

ZiM!
  • Members
  • 231 posts
  • xfire:zim389
QUOTE (piggyspizza @ Jun 11 2007, 10:33 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Build a computer then overclock

Bottom line is Software for CPU overclocking is as about reliable as Komet's volts wagon beetle thingy

Plus the E6600 is one of the most powerful CPU's you should be fine for meow

Alright thanks for the advice. And yea... that "meow" made me lol.

#9
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
All you gotta do is go get a new mobo, case and PSU for it and you're good to OC. The rest of the parts are identical to what you get in retail.

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#10
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
QUOTE (piggyspizza @ Jun 11 2007, 08:33 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Bottom line is Software for CPU overclocking is as about reliable as Komet's volts wagon beetle thingy
I represent that remark!

Hey, it always got me home. Just sometimes on 3 cylinders.

#11
piggyspizza

piggyspizza
  • Members
  • 3,170 posts
  • xfire:piggyspizza
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Interests:Guitar<br />Gaming<br />Computers<br />Friends
  • Xbox / GFWL:Shwanzig
  • Wii:7168706976063002
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Jun 12 2007, 12:16 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
All you gotta do is go get a new mobo, case and PSU for it and you're good to OC. The rest of the parts are identical to what you get in retail.

Except dell is like "where gay, lets make our psu's look like wieners instead of normal atx psu's. Although they might not for the XPS series, and he might not need a new case either.
QUOTE
Crysis isn't a game, it's a benchmark.

#12
RaiDer

RaiDer
  • Members
  • 2,307 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wigan - Greater Manchester - NW England
  • Interests:Probably something to do with W33d.
QUOTE (piggyspizza @ Jun 12 2007, 05:11 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Except dell is like "where gay, lets make our psu's look like wieners instead of normal atx psu's. Although they might not for the XPS series, and he might not need a new case either.



Just had a look for pics on Google, and meh what a weird layout.. Tbh I can't actually tell, in some shots the PSU looks like an average shaped unit in others, meh... To the OP whip your side off and take a look at it! Btw dudes, do we even know what PSU he has? Surely he'd need something semi decent for his config..

#13
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (RaiDer @ Jun 12 2007, 04:51 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Surely he'd need something semi decent for his config..


Dell will really give you the bare minimum in terms of PSU, better just get a new one IMO, plus the fact its not a normal ATX PSU

QUOTE (piggyspizza @ Jun 12 2007, 11:11 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Except dell is like "where gay, lets make our psu's look like wieners instead of normal atx psu's.

I did have that he needs a new PSU on that list

QUOTE (piggyspizza @ Jun 12 2007, 11:11 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
and he might not need a new case either.

Dell dont use normal formfactors, plus their cases look completely gay anywayz

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users