Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Gigabyte N680SLI-DQ6 - First Look

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
http://www.techpowerup.com/index.php?23007

Check this shit out:


Gigabyte says Fuck You nVidia! We're making the hottest chipset on the planet passive! Bam! I'm impressed at Gigabyte's C2D boards. They've really stepped up to the enthusiast market with innovative solutions at extremely competitive prices. Also, notice the migration in motherboard cooling design from top-down cpu cooling (i.e. Tt Big Typhoon) to backdraft (i.e. Zalman 9700) from the location of the main heatsink on this board. Very intelligent thinking, since that method has proved to be most efficient in removing heat from the ATX design.

#2
SRS Nd

SRS Nd
  • Members
  • 656 posts
  • xfire:georges11thfleet
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Xbox / GFWL:DN Cashman
but... all the manufacturers are using heatpipes... BFG, ASUS etc.

i am now confused somewhat

CPU:          Q9300 @ 3.4           |  MOB:          ASUS P5K
GPU:          GeForce GTX570      |  RAM:          4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2-1066


#3
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
QUOTE (SRS Nd @ Jan 5 2007, 02:07 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
but... all the manufacturers are using heatpipes... BFG, ASUS etc.

i am now confused somewhat
BFG doesn't make motherboards, and you won't be finding many passive 680i chipsets because they dissipate a huge amount of wattage.

It wasn't the heatpipes themselves that was notable.

#4
SRS Nd

SRS Nd
  • Members
  • 656 posts
  • xfire:georges11thfleet
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Xbox / GFWL:DN Cashman
http://www.umart.com.au/pro/products_listn...4&sid=21068

u were saying?

CPU:          Q9300 @ 3.4           |  MOB:          ASUS P5K
GPU:          GeForce GTX570      |  RAM:          4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2-1066


#5
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,901 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Rofl, 4 Ethernet adapters? Wtf Am I gonna do with those? XD

The rest of the specs look really nice. Solid caps I assume?

The only downside are the colours...this board really reminds me of gay icon_razz.gif

And uh.. suspected price?


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#6
SRS Nd

SRS Nd
  • Members
  • 656 posts
  • xfire:georges11thfleet
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Xbox / GFWL:DN Cashman
$500+ Australian.. or abt 250-300 usd!

and ther is 2 ethernet adapters not 4 Weiman

CPU:          Q9300 @ 3.4           |  MOB:          ASUS P5K
GPU:          GeForce GTX570      |  RAM:          4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2-1066


#7
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,901 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
QUOTE (SRS Nd @ Jan 5 2007, 11:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
$500+ Australian.. or abt 250-300 usd!

and ther is 2 ethernet adapters not 4 Weiman


QUOTE
1 x TPM connector
1 x LPT port
3 x Cooling fan
- Rear I/O Connectors
4 x USB 2.0/1.1
4 x RJ45
1 x Optical SPDIF_OUT





QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#8
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (Weiman @ Jan 5 2007, 05:23 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Rofl, 4 Ethernet adapters? Wtf Am I gonna do with those? XD


Oh i think we all have a pretty good idea what you like to do with a spare ethernet adapter on a lonely night weiman icon_wink.gif

Tho if your thinkin of it that way how many people with dual ethernet boards actually use both ports?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#9
SRS Nd

SRS Nd
  • Members
  • 656 posts
  • xfire:georges11thfleet
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Xbox / GFWL:DN Cashman
well its a typo... i no for a fact that the 680i chipset only has 2

CPU:          Q9300 @ 3.4           |  MOB:          ASUS P5K
GPU:          GeForce GTX570      |  RAM:          4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2-1066


#10
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (SRS Nd @ Jan 5 2007, 06:30 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
well its a typo... i no for a fact that the 680i chipset only has 2


They can put on chips to controll more ethernet ports, like how intel got IDE on the 965 chipsets
Also look at the picture, it shows 4 ethernet ports, you gunna call that a typo? icon_razz.gif

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#11
SRS Nd

SRS Nd
  • Members
  • 656 posts
  • xfire:georges11thfleet
  • Location:Victoria, Australia
  • Xbox / GFWL:DN Cashman
after actually looking at the photo... i stand thoroughly corrected. but i do believe the original specifications from nVidia was 2 so gigabyte must have added them

yea... wat WOULD you do with all those... it could like.. be its own router?

CPU:          Q9300 @ 3.4           |  MOB:          ASUS P5K
GPU:          GeForce GTX570      |  RAM:          4GB Kingston HyperX DDR2-1066


#12
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (SRS Nd @ Jan 5 2007, 06:38 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
after actually looking at the photo... i stand thoroughly corrected. but i do believe the original specifications from nVidia was 2 so gigabyte must have added them

yea... wat WOULD you do with all those... it could like.. be its own router?


Haha yea probs

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#13
Solideath

Solideath
  • Members
  • 905 posts
  • xfire:xsolideathx
  • Xbox / GFWL:xsolideathx
  • PSN:xsolideathx
  • Wii:8631256620113728
lol yea mine has 2, and i only use one...4? wow ok, good job? lol thats all i can say cuz i dunno what else.
Whose the noob??

#14
stabhappy

stabhappy
  • Banned
  • 5,345 posts
  • xfire:101headshotcruiser
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales, UK
  • Interests:Computing<br />Gaming<br />Music/Guitar<br /><br />http://myspace.com/maffuwilliams
i love gigabyte. they manage to make extremely overclockable boards on passive technologies. beatiful.
Core2Duo e6400@3.2GHZ, 42C | GigaByte DS3 Rev2 @1.6FSB. | 2GB Gskill DDR2-800
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda | 7600GT | OCZ GameXStream 600W 72A psu | Antec 900 | Tuniq Tower 120
____________________________________________________
PPHosting
or
<a href="http://www.servage.net/?coupon=CUST30106" target="_blank">
Servage.net</a> (Available worldwide. Huge usage limits.)

#15
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
QUOTE (SRS Nd @ Jan 5 2007, 02:13 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Those are rebranded Chaintech motherboards, because Chaintechs don't sell. Try again.

#16
theblackmages

theblackmages
  • Members
  • 1,120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal,Canada
QUOTE (Komet @ Jan 5 2007, 02:18 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Those are rebranded Chaintech motherboards, because Chaintechs don't sell. Try again.

yeah cause chaintech suck ass.

#17
McKaamos

McKaamos
  • Members
  • 402 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
Chaintech used to have very nice boards. Apogee series was cool. Black with gold and yellow, had a good chipset (nForce2) and had very decent overclocking feats.
Nowadays I dont hear much about chaintech anymore tho...

Anyway, I agree with Weiman. Whats the use of having 4 ethernet ports?
Trunking them would be cool, but needs driver support and a switch that supports it (expensive!), and your HDD's won't be able to keep up anyway.
I'd rather see 4 extra USB ports on the spot of 2 of those Ethernet ports.
Most people have USB port shortages. I had to add 6 extra ports on my machine just to be able to connect all my stuff :/
Just hook me up to the internet, 1000 Megabits per second, IV push. It'll feel like home...

#18
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
680i supports some sort of technology that allows you to use one ethernet in, and one ethernet out. So they're essentially allowing you to have two double connections. I don't really know a lot about it, except I remember reading that.

#19
McKaamos

McKaamos
  • Members
  • 402 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
QUOTE (Komet @ Jan 6 2007, 12:03 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
680i supports some sort of technology that allows you to use one ethernet in, and one ethernet out. So they're essentially allowing you to have two double connections. I don't really know a lot about it, except I remember reading that.

Thats NIC teaming.
You'd need driver support and a switch that can handle it. Those switches are rather expensive, so I really dont see the use of it for a Home PC
Just hook me up to the internet, 1000 Megabits per second, IV push. It'll feel like home...

#20
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
Most home PC stuffs fine with a 10/100 connection, hardly ever do they need even gigabit let alone teamed gigabit ports

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users