Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

CS:S ERROR

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
marky412

marky412
  • Members
  • 51 posts
some times when im playing css it freezes then syas aplication error or somtin What to do?
or when im playing a game a blue screen will come up and say something about dumping memory ?
wut do i do?
HAha

#2
Gareth

Gareth
  • Members
  • 61 posts
Specifics as to the actual error message and perhaps what was going on inside the game would be very helpful.

#3
Weiman

Weiman

    Best HW&SW Cont. & PP Savant '09

  • Global Moderators
  • 33,900 posts
  • xfire:weiman
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Interests:Gaming, Biochemistry.
  • Steam ID:Weiman
  • Gamer Army ID:2452
  • Company:Mu
Specs. Temps. (everest) Run memtest86, if that does nothing ATITool and see if the fuzzy thing gets any weird colours.


QUOTE (Weiman @ Apr 5 2009, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
This is exactly what has been going on through the entire thread, and it's not the first time either.
You come to us for advice..you just spell out what you want to get, and then ask us if it is okay, and we have to explain why it isn't. That's the world upside down.. If you would just say 'hey guys, I have an X amount of money, what should I buy?' Then this would be over in 2-3 posts, not 2-3 pages.
QUOTE (Kazzerax @ May 21 2009, 09:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every time someone goes against Weiman's sig I feel like they should be bludgeoned for a few minutes in the head to feel the headache I feel when I realize someone really IS that dense.

#4
stabhappy

stabhappy
  • Banned
  • 5,345 posts
  • xfire:101headshotcruiser
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales, UK
  • Interests:Computing<br />Gaming<br />Music/Guitar<br /><br />http://myspace.com/maffuwilliams
Heat (although unlikley), I'd run Memtest86 though, as BSOD's are regularly hand in hand with bad memory.

What does the blue screen say? Reference to any files?
Core2Duo e6400@3.2GHZ, 42C | GigaByte DS3 Rev2 @1.6FSB. | 2GB Gskill DDR2-800
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda | 7600GT | OCZ GameXStream 600W 72A psu | Antec 900 | Tuniq Tower 120
____________________________________________________
PPHosting
or
<a href="http://www.servage.net/?coupon=CUST30106" target="_blank">
Servage.net</a> (Available worldwide. Huge usage limits.)

#5
theblackmages

theblackmages
  • Members
  • 1,120 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal,Canada
run memtest86, most of the time it means your memory is bad.

#6
Chaos_Dude

Chaos_Dude
  • Members
  • 141 posts
  • xfire:killerskillz
  • Location:Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
  • Interests:Gaming <br />Chicks<br />Skateboarding (sometimes)<br />Games: WC 3 TFT, WoW, CSS, Civ 4, B &amp; W 2, COD 2, C&amp;C Generals Zero Hour, Half Life 2
Where can i run mem test

#7
stabhappy

stabhappy
  • Banned
  • 5,345 posts
  • xfire:101headshotcruiser
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales, UK
  • Interests:Computing<br />Gaming<br />Music/Guitar<br /><br />http://myspace.com/maffuwilliams
You'll need a floppy disk else it will be quite difficult.
Core2Duo e6400@3.2GHZ, 42C | GigaByte DS3 Rev2 @1.6FSB. | 2GB Gskill DDR2-800
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda | 7600GT | OCZ GameXStream 600W 72A psu | Antec 900 | Tuniq Tower 120
____________________________________________________
PPHosting
or
<a href="http://www.servage.net/?coupon=CUST30106" target="_blank">
Servage.net</a> (Available worldwide. Huge usage limits.)

#8
Gareth

Gareth
  • Members
  • 61 posts
QUOTE (stabhappy @ Nov 12 2006, 03:21 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You'll need a floppy disk else it will be quite difficult.


Most bootable linux distribution discs (knoppix, ubuntu etc) also provide a memtest function, so it isn't essential to have a floppy drive.

#9
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
Hell, you can burn an iso of memtest straight from their site onto a CD.

#10
thevudd

thevudd
  • Banned
  • 1,467 posts
  • Gamer Army ID:104
Why was my first reply deleted from this thread? A PM to explain would be useful.

#11
stabhappy

stabhappy
  • Banned
  • 5,345 posts
  • xfire:101headshotcruiser
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales, UK
  • Interests:Computing<br />Gaming<br />Music/Guitar<br /><br />http://myspace.com/maffuwilliams
Yes, I'm more than aware. Most people don't want to download 700MB installer and have to waste a disk to do such a simple task, though. Especially when they have no intention of ever using Linux.
Core2Duo e6400@3.2GHZ, 42C | GigaByte DS3 Rev2 @1.6FSB. | 2GB Gskill DDR2-800
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda | 7600GT | OCZ GameXStream 600W 72A psu | Antec 900 | Tuniq Tower 120
____________________________________________________
PPHosting
or
<a href="http://www.servage.net/?coupon=CUST30106" target="_blank">
Servage.net</a> (Available worldwide. Huge usage limits.)

#12
Gareth

Gareth
  • Members
  • 61 posts
QUOTE (stabhappy @ Nov 12 2006, 03:53 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Yes, I'm more than aware. Most people don't want to download 700MB installer and have to waste a disk to do such a simple task, though. Especially when they have no intention of ever using Linux.


Well, I meant it just as a note if he wasn't aware of that, and happened to have one just lying around. Although in hindsight that's probably not too likely. Whatever, really.

#13
RandyHobo

RandyHobo
  • Members
  • 128 posts
I'm suprised nobody has suggested any of these answers yet;

-Delete clientregistry.blob in your steam folder then launch steam, steam will then update itself upon launching it. This usually fixes most problems I have ran into with steam in the past.

-If that doesn't work, uninstall steam and reinstall it along with your games.

BSODs can be a gamble though and can be caused by various things. If it's only happening when your play CS:S, then I suppose it's a problem with cs rather then your system memory. Would be an idea though to run memtest to see what condition your memory is in. Update your gfx drivers too, and also make sure you use the latest direct x (infact microsoft released a new direct x october redist recently for direct x).

#14
stabhappy

stabhappy
  • Banned
  • 5,345 posts
  • xfire:101headshotcruiser
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales, UK
  • Interests:Computing<br />Gaming<br />Music/Guitar<br /><br />http://myspace.com/maffuwilliams
Clientblob fixing BSOD's that relate to D3D errors? (He sent me a PM)

Unlikley
Core2Duo e6400@3.2GHZ, 42C | GigaByte DS3 Rev2 @1.6FSB. | 2GB Gskill DDR2-800
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda | 7600GT | OCZ GameXStream 600W 72A psu | Antec 900 | Tuniq Tower 120
____________________________________________________
PPHosting
or
<a href="http://www.servage.net/?coupon=CUST30106" target="_blank">
Servage.net</a> (Available worldwide. Huge usage limits.)

#15
Chaos_Dude

Chaos_Dude
  • Members
  • 141 posts
  • xfire:killerskillz
  • Location:Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
  • Interests:Gaming <br />Chicks<br />Skateboarding (sometimes)<br />Games: WC 3 TFT, WoW, CSS, Civ 4, B &amp; W 2, COD 2, C&amp;C Generals Zero Hour, Half Life 2
ya this prob sounds n00b but i dont like no wut u guys are talkin about and i dl memtest and it was fucked i dint no wut to do and wtf is a BSOD

QUOTE (Chaos_Dude @ Nov 15 2006, 09:57 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ya this prob sounds n00b but i dont like no wut u guys are talkin about and i dl memtest and it was fucked i dint no wut to do and wtf is a BSOD

o this is marky412 chaos_dude is my other acc

#16
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128


#17
stabhappy

stabhappy
  • Banned
  • 5,345 posts
  • xfire:101headshotcruiser
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wales, UK
  • Interests:Computing<br />Gaming<br />Music/Guitar<br /><br />http://myspace.com/maffuwilliams
Memtest : boot into it instead of windows and it'll esablish if your memory is borked, it needs to be run for about 4-8 hours for best efficiency.

BSOD - blue screen of death, common phrase used in hardware or software configuration problems that b asically displays in order to stop hardware getting damaged because of improper use.
Core2Duo e6400@3.2GHZ, 42C | GigaByte DS3 Rev2 @1.6FSB. | 2GB Gskill DDR2-800
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda | 7600GT | OCZ GameXStream 600W 72A psu | Antec 900 | Tuniq Tower 120
____________________________________________________
PPHosting
or
<a href="http://www.servage.net/?coupon=CUST30106" target="_blank">
Servage.net</a> (Available worldwide. Huge usage limits.)

#18
thevudd

thevudd
  • Banned
  • 1,467 posts
  • Gamer Army ID:104
QUOTE (Komet @ Nov 16 2006, 03:07 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>



The original Grammar Nazi.

Almost.

icon_smile.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users