Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Will AMD 939 Socket Procs still be in stock by Dec?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
voyager_2k

voyager_2k
  • Members
  • 645 posts
  • xfire:voyager2k420
  • Location:bombsite B
  • Interests:CS: S/UT/FPS in general
This may be an n00b question, but I kinda want to know.. because I am considering buying a FX-55 (for gaming with Source engine) and I've got the money for it right now, but I'm not planning on building the whole rig till December. I read that AMD haulted produciton on 939 Opterons in July and I also heard that they're gonna hault the production of 939 entirely. So will the FX-55 still be in stock in December?

If you hold a WoW funeral in a PVP zone I will rape all attendees!!!1

#2
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
They will probably be available, but an Opty 165 is a better buy than an FX-55.

#3
evol262

evol262

    MotM Dec 2005 teh_burninator / Keeping n00bs at bay

  • GA Private
  • 5,804 posts
  • xfire:evol262
  • Location:/usr/bin/perl
  • Gamer Army ID:548
What's your budget, how much of it do you have already, and why are you still picking 939 unless you already have the motherboard?
CODE
while(!asleep()) {
                    sheep++;
}

#4
DHC

DHC

    e^(i*pi) + 1 = 0

  • Retired Staff
  • 12,731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Someplace wonderful
  • Gamer Army ID:31
  • Company:Kilo
heck, even WITH the mobo...

cost for an FX-55 in december would be what, $500? thats enough for an e6300 and a mobo

#5
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
No, FX-55's are like $139 atm. I bought my Opty 165 for $147 shipped though and I have two full cores opposed to a nice San Diego. You're still going to have trouble getting over 3 on an FX-55 anyhow, and my 165 @ 2.4Ghz is much snappier (and does MUCH better in Vista) than my 3700+ was at 2.8.

I was assuming he already had 939 lol.

#6
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
IMO it wouldn't be worth it for an FX-55. They were good, like a year ago. Now theyre just POSs. I would reckon better to save money towards a dualcore system in the future some time.

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#7
voyager_2k

voyager_2k
  • Members
  • 645 posts
  • xfire:voyager2k420
  • Location:bombsite B
  • Interests:CS: S/UT/FPS in general
QUOTE (Komet @ Oct 15 2006, 02:36 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
They will probably be available, but an Opty 165 is a better buy than an FX-55.

I have no need for a dual core. The games circa 2006 can't take advantage of dual core technology.

If you hold a WoW funeral in a PVP zone I will rape all attendees!!!1

#8
DHC

DHC

    e^(i*pi) + 1 = 0

  • Retired Staff
  • 12,731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Someplace wonderful
  • Gamer Army ID:31
  • Company:Kilo
QUOTE (voyager_2k @ Oct 16 2006, 12:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have no need for a dual core. The games circa 2006 can't take advantage of dual core technology.


actually, almost all of them DO take advantage of it

Edited by DougHChrist, 15 October 2006 - 11:32 PM.


#9
voyager_2k

voyager_2k
  • Members
  • 645 posts
  • xfire:voyager2k420
  • Location:bombsite B
  • Interests:CS: S/UT/FPS in general
QUOTE (DougHChrist @ Oct 15 2006, 11:32 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
actually, almost all of them DO take advantage of it

*scratches head* ... could you elaborate?

If you hold a WoW funeral in a PVP zone I will rape all attendees!!!1

#10
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
Dude an FX-55 is an overhyped 3700+. You won't be getting any extreme performance out of it. A moderately overclocked Opty 165 will whoop ass on whatever that FX-55 can do on anything but phase.

It's not about "needing dual core", it's about choosing the more powerful processor.

To elaborate on games circa 2006, anything written for multithreading will greatly take advantage of multithreading. I know DOOM3 had like SMP but it didn't work right so they disabled it or something, I know Quake 4 and CoD2 take advantage of multiple CPUs. I also know that I'm getting the same FPS in CSS with my Opty @ 2.4 as I did with my 3700+ at 2.8. A toledo core is essentially 2xSan Diego anyhow, and there are some 3700+/4000+ being sold as Toledos (with one core disabled).

I can personally say I've been there done that, and the two cores are much better.

#11
DHC

DHC

    e^(i*pi) + 1 = 0

  • Retired Staff
  • 12,731 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Someplace wonderful
  • Gamer Army ID:31
  • Company:Kilo
heck, even quake3 had SMP support

#12
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
lol John Carmack is a total nerd.

#13
voyager_2k

voyager_2k
  • Members
  • 645 posts
  • xfire:voyager2k420
  • Location:bombsite B
  • Interests:CS: S/UT/FPS in general
QUOTE (Komet @ Oct 15 2006, 11:42 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Dude an FX-55 is an overhyped 3700+. You won't be getting any extreme performance out of it. A moderately overclocked Opty 165 will whoop ass on whatever that FX-55 can do on anything but phase.

It's not about "needing dual core", it's about choosing the more powerful processor.

To elaborate on games circa 2006, anything written for multithreading will greatly take advantage of multithreading. I know DOOM3 had like SMP but it didn't work right so they disabled it or something, I know Quake 4 and CoD2 take advantage of multiple CPUs. I also know that I'm getting the same FPS in CSS with my Opty @ 2.4 as I did with my 3700+ at 2.8. A toledo core is essentially 2xSan Diego anyhow, and there are some 3700+/4000+ being sold as Toledos (with one core disabled).

I can personally say I've been there done that, and the two cores are much better.

Mmmkay. I suppose I'll just push back my build date to January and choose the best 65nm proc for the bucks.. I was hoping to save some dough but I guess I'll spend a little more.

If you hold a WoW funeral in a PVP zone I will rape all attendees!!!1

#14
Tazato

Tazato
  • Members
  • 114 posts
  • xfire:tazato
I Have an AMD 3800+ X2 , and now its not that expensive. even the 4200+ isnt that bad anymore.

#15
onnet7

onnet7
  • Members
  • 224 posts
  • Interests:Computers etc.
QUOTE (Tazato @ Oct 16 2006, 12:56 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
even the 4200+ isnt that bad anymore.


Yea, I'm running the 4200+ X2. It's a very fast processor, definatly worth the money.
ASUS P5KC, E8600 @ 4.2ghz on Tuniq Tower, 2Gb G.Skill ddr3 @ ~stock, pov gtx 280 @ stock, Antec 1200, PCP&P Silencer 610W, Asus Xonar DX, 1tb Hitachi Desktar

I have a cock.
I have a cock.
I have a cock.
I have a cock.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users