Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Um...help :(.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
Well, I just got my X2 4400+ and Asus mobo installed...and upon booting, I was like "...whaddafuck?". I installed every single driver off the CD that came with my mobo and everything. There's trouble, though. I really don't feel like explaining everything in detail...so here's a list:

-Windows now takes 3 times longer to boot up, lots of apps take longer.
-Everything is noticeably slower than before.
-There is no performance increase in multi-tasking.

Is there something I need to download? I already downloaded the AMD Dual Core Optimizer...anything else? I'm also thinking this will take some time to get used to...

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#2
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
How many background apps you got going there?

edit: wait when you put in the new stuff did you reinstall winXP or not?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#3
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Aug 17 2006, 12:30 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
How many background apps you got going there?

Just the bare neccessities, Xfire, and Firefox.

EDIT: Yes, it made me re-activate Windows XP, and for some time, I was stuck in an infinite loop of me BSOD-ing on startup and it rebooting.

EDIT2: Ok, I found out how to set "affinities"...how do I get it to utilize both cores upon startup, instead of just one? Or can I?

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#4
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
What's your RAM usage with nothing running? Also see what your CPU usage is at and if its abnormally high in task mangler. BTW when its going slow is the red HDD light on or not?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#5
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
I think there's something you have to install for XP that fixes this.

#6
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Aug 17 2006, 12:36 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
What's your RAM usage with nothing running? Also see what your CPU usage is at and if its abnormally high in task mangler. BTW when its going slow is the red HDD light on or not?

The HDD light is like constantly flashing...and Komet, omfg, I forgot about that hotfix icon_lol.gif.

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#7
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (otaku_4_life @ Aug 17 2006, 01:38 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The HDD light is like constantly flashing...and Komet, omfg, I forgot about that hotfix icon_lol.gif.


So is this problem solved or not?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#8
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
Wtf. The hotfix did nothing. Windows still boots up slow as fuck and my HDD light will not stop flashing if I open something.

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#9
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
When did you last defrag?

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#10
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Aug 17 2006, 12:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
When did you last defrag?

After my last reformat which was back in July, I believe.

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#11
piggyspizza

piggyspizza
  • Members
  • 3,170 posts
  • xfire:piggyspizza
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio
  • Interests:Guitar<br />Gaming<br />Computers<br />Friends
  • Xbox / GFWL:Shwanzig
  • Wii:7168706976063002
QUOTE (otaku_4_life @ Aug 17 2006, 02:47 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
After my last reformat which was back in July, I believe.

Big boy scan? (virus,ad-aware,spyware,hijack,ect..)
QUOTE
Crysis isn't a game, it's a benchmark.

#12
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
QUOTE (piggyspizza @ Aug 17 2006, 12:50 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Big boy scan? (virus,ad-aware,spyware,hijack,ect..)

I do a scan every day. I found nothing when I did it earlier (virus/spyware).

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#13
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
I think your cores are breakdance fighting or something. I know this has happened before to lots of people. Hmm, never been on a dual core rig myself...

#14
TEB

TEB
  • Members
  • 2,905 posts
  • xfire:techieelite
  • Location:California.
  • Interests:Computers
have you tried a good ol fashion format? I mean I make it a habit to format after changing something like a mobo or cpu.

#15
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
Good idea TEB, yeah back everything up that you need then reformat that sucker

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#16
otaku_4_life

otaku_4_life

    Best MMO-RPG Contributor 08!

  • Members
  • 4,566 posts
  • xfire:otaku4life
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Spruce Grove, AB
  • Steam ID:0:0:9287390
  • Xbox / GFWL:o
  • PSN:L
  • Wii:L
Well, good news is I OCed my 4400+ well beyond 4800 speeds and approaching FX-60 speeds (it only took an increase of 20 on the HTT, an increase in HTT of probably 10 more and I'll have FX-60) icon_biggrin.gif. W00t.

AKA:
QUOTE (Karko @ Aug 21 2011, 07:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
that 12 year old canadian kid who used to play BF2 before going to WoW and becoming addicted

#17
Komet

Komet

    PPFA 2006: Best HW&SW teh_overclockerer

  • GA Corporal
  • 9,425 posts
  • xfire:theredkomet
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, WA, USA
  • Wii:7734541838954115
  • Gamer Army ID:128
Dude you need your system stable before you start overclocking.

#18
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
Yeah true, get it working properly before you start tinkering with it. Just please remember to lock the PCIe frequency so you dont come back saying your HDDs are having detection problems and such

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#19
frostassasin

frostassasin
  • Banned
  • 3,398 posts
  • xfire:frostassasin
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Gaming. Yes that's it. I am one fucking boring person.
  • Xbox / GFWL:I wish :(
QUOTE (7h3 n00b m4573r @ Aug 17 2006, 03:18 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Yeah true, get it working properly before you start tinkering with it. Just please remember to lock the PCIe frequency so you dont come back saying your HDDs are having detection problems and such

icon_sad.gif that took 2 reformats and 36 hours to fix. Either that, or don't OC more than 20 on the FSB/HTT.

And also, when you buy a new processor, you have to reformat?

#20
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (frostassasin @ Aug 17 2006, 03:11 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
And also, when you buy a new processor, you have to reformat?


If your just going from one proc to another same family one with higher clock its just like OCing your proc, definitely no. If going from single core to dualcore you may and if you get a new mobo highly recommended if not essential

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users