Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Getting 3 Core Parts.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
So I've slowly been upgrading, and now it's time for my last 3 pieces.
Mobo, CPU, RAM.

CPU: Might get that really nice i5 that OC's easily. it was somethingsomethingsomething-K

MOBO: No idea

Ram: DDR3 8gb, dont know what speed. 2x4gb or 4x2gb?

Suggestions?
note: Don't care about SLI or crossfire. Probably won't ever do it. I just want to run BF3 on ultra

Edited by x_byakugan_x, 20 January 2012 - 09:28 PM.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#2
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
I think the CPU you're after is the i5 2500k.

Also, I think you'd have to spend a lot of money to run BF3 on ultra, tbh.

#3
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
That's the one. I just heard it doesn't have hyper threading though. I forgot if that's even important for games.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#4
Neojapan

Neojapan
  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, Tx
  • Steam ID:herr_furzt@yahoo.com
  • Xbox / GFWL:hTp mL
  • PSN:ml5150
I actually just upgraded too. i got the i7 2600K and a ASRock extreme4 gen3. Its a great motherboard because it supports PCIe 3.0 and USB 3.0 for when the ivy bridge cpu's come out. Only problem is that it has some problems right now with keyboard support. My Razer Black Widow does not work with it right now. Hoping for more bios updates soon. As for ram i got Corsair Vengeance 16gb 2x8gb 1600. Good stuff.

I do suggest that motherboard though. I got the p67 version as i don't care about the Intel graphics. All it does is pull resources from the CPU.
Never let your mind stop you from having a good time!

#5
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
I think the returns you get in terms of gaming performance with CPUs diminish quite heavily once you start looking past the i5 2500k. I don't think you'd need an i7 for just gaming, in any game really. But it could definitely come in handy if you're planning to stream your game, or do any sort of video editing.

#6
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
the i5 2500k should be a good gaming CPU and overclock quite well
hyperthreading isn't important for gaming
as for mobo, just figure out the features you like then find those features on a board from a brand you like. Brands like asus, asrock or gigabyte are good bets if you're unsure

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#7
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
Check out the motherboards I mention in this thread:
http://www.purepwnag...howtopic=102390
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.

#8
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
Yea for a $110 dollar difference, I think I'll get the 2500k. Don't really edit video, just game.

What's a good ammount of ram these days? I already said I'd get 8 as it's double than what I have now.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#9
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
Could be wrong, but 8GB sounds just about fine for pretty much everything you'll need on a gaming PC.

#10
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,868 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
I see "Z68" is a type of board. Here's a cheap DZ68. For $114



Thoughts? Is PCI-E 3.0 coming any time soon? Most boards out there are 2.0.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#11
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Jan 30 2012, 04:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I see "Z68" is a type of board. Here's a cheap DZ68. For $114



Thoughts? Is PCI-E 3.0 coming any time soon? Most boards out there are 2.0.

Check it out on tom's hardware.

I know the one I posted above is highly recommended from them. It's also the one I have, and I don't think it was that much pricier than the one you're looking at.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.

#12
Neojapan

Neojapan
  • Members
  • 83 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, Tx
  • Steam ID:herr_furzt@yahoo.com
  • Xbox / GFWL:hTp mL
  • PSN:ml5150
If you have a video card...there is no point in getting a z68 board. You can get a p67 cheaper, And if you want pciE 3.0 support http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813157265

*Edit* Not sure if you knew but PCIe 3.0 is only supported with ivy bridge processor

Edited by Neojapan, 03 February 2012 - 07:23 AM.

Never let your mind stop you from having a good time!

#13
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
QUOTE (Neojapan @ Feb 3 2012, 08:28 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If you have a video card...there is no point in getting a z68 board. You can get a p67 cheaper, And if you want pciE 3.0 support http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813157265

Z68 is better if only by virtue of being newer, and p67 is not really cheaper. There are good Z68 boards for the same price as similar quality as p67 boards. The utility of virtu is non-trivial as well and allows for pretty decent power savings(around 25%) when you aren't gaming. If you spend any time not gaming on your computer it's decent savings. It also has much better support for ssds.

The money you save compared to the usability you can gain is small. You'll only save $10-20 unless you do something totally retarded. You should be able to make that back just from Virtu power savings, and the added utility of the extra SSD support is pretty rad too.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users