Jump to content

Welcome to The OFFICIAL Pure Pwnage forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Is This Deal Good?!11

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None


This would be an upgrade from an e7300 Core2Duo and P5QL mobo.

Should I get this? Thoughts on the mobo? I've only heard good from the CPU.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#2
oldSkool

oldSkool
  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • Location:Australia
According to what I've read - the motherboard only supports 32gb's of RAM... that gonna be enough? icon_razz.gif

Review

Cpu specs:
Wiki Intel

For that price, I'd get it icon_razz.gif
But I come from the land down under - where technology prices are stupidly inflated.
(Board - $329, CPU - $229 = $558).
One day, when you're old enough - I'll tell you how I fought in the bit wars...

#3
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
That price is solid. The prices on newegg right now are $160 for mobo $225 for processor. nearly $100 of savings. If you were going to upgrade anyway that price is a steal. My only issue would be that it's a p67 board, so it won't use sandybridge's onboard graphics, which should be fine if you have a video card and there's some SSD cache optimizations. You also can only overclock the SB integrated graphics with their newer chipset. You can still overclock the processor though, and from what I've heard the 2500k overclocks like a dream. Waiting to get a new CPU cooler to find out though.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.

#4
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
God damn you guys telling me it's a good deal, and making me want to buy it. It's all gonna come down to how BF3 runs tonight and tomorrow night really. In beta I ran everything on ULTRA on the metro map with an EXCELLENT framerate. Then caspian border came along and it was like I was playing a completely different game, where I could barely handle medium settings. My core2duo @3.4ghz isn't enough anymore I suspect.. need quad.

Also, why would anyone this day and age use on board graphics? Maybe it's changed from what I remember it being. It's what your motherboard can put out from a tiny onboard chip right... and it's usually SHIT for gaming?
[color=green] After some reading, I see it's graphics prrocessing IN the CPU. Interesting. But a current gen video card beats out sandy bridge is what I read. It's on par with an ATI 5450.

Anyway I have a gtx 560ti, and yea if you remember, I did recently get an SSD.

Oldskool.. $558 for that......? I can't even get that into my head. I hope minimum wage down under is $20~ per hour.

Edited by x_byakugan_x, 24 October 2011 - 10:07 PM.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#5
oldSkool

oldSkool
  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • Location:Australia
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Oct 25 2011, 01:49 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, why would anyone this day and age use on board graphics? Maybe it's changed from what I remember it being. It's what your motherboard can put out from a tiny onboard chip right... and it's usually SHIT for gaming?


Because a lot of people play flash-based games, or other not resource-heavy simple games -- which, on old on-board graphics (of between 8 and 64 megabytes) just don't crack it.
A lot of these chips are finding their way into media centres - and, sure, dedicated is always better, but for a cost-effective all purpose unit it's nice to know it'll do an OK job with graphics.

It was also a 'natural evolution' of the processor design, to eliminate the external chips it had to interact with and just let the CPU do all the work (makes it quicker, too).

QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Oct 25 2011, 01:49 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Oldskool.. $558 for that......? I can't even get that into my head. I hope minimum wage down under is $20~ per hour.


According to this government site:
"Australia's minimum wage is $15.51 per hour or $589.30 per week"
Also outlines junior wages (under 21's).

That was from a relatively well-known PC manufacturer, PC-Casegear. You could possibly get it cheaper, from MSY or CPL - but these places have reputations of 'off the back of the truck' kind of dealings. PC-Casegear has good prices and legit. icon_smile.gif
One day, when you're old enough - I'll tell you how I fought in the bit wars...

#6
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Oct 24 2011, 09:49 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, why would anyone this day and age use on board graphics? Maybe it's changed from what I remember it being. It's what your motherboard can put out from a tiny onboard chip right... and it's usually SHIT for gaming?
[color=green] After some reading, I see it's graphics prrocessing IN the CPU. Interesting. But a current gen video card beats out sandy bridge is what I read. It's on par with an ATI 5450.

The thing is that sandybridge integrated graphics are somewhat on par with a middle of the road graphics card, which is way better than they usually are by at least an order of magnitude. I'd love sandybridge in a laptop, and even in my desktop with a z68 board my computer uses sandybridge when it's rendering the windows desktop and most applications and the GPU for games because of virtu netting power savings for me.

Sandybridge is way more powerful than I expected and shouldn't be dismissed just because integrated graphics are usually trash. I'd expect it to run most indy games just fine, which is more than suitable for a lot of people.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.

#7
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
Well, I see that it really is a good deal.. but now I'm all over the place with my decision.

Some maps/modes I can run everything on ultra with 40+frames.
Others I need to put things on low to even get 25. (full 64 player maps with explosions everywhere.)

Thanks for the input guys, guess I'll make the decision tommorrow x.x.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#8
oldSkool

oldSkool
  • Members
  • 259 posts
  • Location:Australia
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Oct 26 2011, 07:32 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks for the input guys, guess I'll make the decision tommorrow x.x.


Just buy it.

If you don't want it, ship it to me icon_wink.gif icon_razz.gif
One day, when you're old enough - I'll tell you how I fought in the bit wars...

#9
7h3 n00b m4573r

7h3 n00b m4573r

    Best HW & SW Contributor 08 & 09

  • CCA
  • 9,600 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/usr/bin/python/
  • Xbox / GFWL:Dont like
  • PSN:Completely detest
  • Wii:Cant afford
QUOTE (oldSkool @ Oct 24 2011, 10:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
That was from a relatively well-known PC manufacturer, PC-Casegear. You could possibly get it cheaper, from MSY or CPL - but these places have reputations of 'off the back of the truck' kind of dealings. PC-Casegear has good prices and legit. icon_smile.gif


Nothing wrong with MSY
BTW, umart has that board for $185
http://www.umart.com...i...7&sid=73789

Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Metabox P170 laptop
i7 3610QM 2.3GHz
4x4GB RAM
256GB SSD + 1TB HDD
nVidia GTX675M


#10
j type

j type
  • Members
  • 2,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Ox
  • Steam ID:jtype
  • Rofl-Rupees:2
Just a btw, the BF3 beta had graphics settings locked at Medium (regardless of which settings you selected in the options) as far as I know, so that might not be the best benchmark for what your setup is capable of.

Edited by j type, 04 November 2011 - 05:22 AM.


#11
Billy...

Billy...
  • Members
  • 1,291 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:San Bernardino, CA
  • Interests:Pee and Pooh
  • Steam ID:googlegaara818
  • Xbox / GFWL:GhostsFaceKira
I wouldn't go swinging at ultra settings in bf3 with that thing but I guess it's a fine deal.
QUOTE (The Colonel @ Jun 14 2010, 05:57 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Chill out faggot


#12
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
I dunno. If you are comfortable OCing your stuff you should be able to do ultra on that. I've seen videos of a guy getting 40+ FPS on ultra in BF3 with a GTX 460 1GB and a non-OCed i7 2700k, and your graphics card is better.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.

#13
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
QUOTE (j type @ Nov 4 2011, 03:28 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Just a btw, the BF3 beta had graphics settings locked at Medium (regardless of which settings you selected in the options) as far as I know, so that might not be the best benchmark for what your setup is capable of.


Well the retail is running better than the beta for me, although still not on ultra.

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#14
Billy...

Billy...
  • Members
  • 1,291 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:San Bernardino, CA
  • Interests:Pee and Pooh
  • Steam ID:googlegaara818
  • Xbox / GFWL:GhostsFaceKira
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Nov 4 2011, 05:36 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Well the retail is running better than the beta for me, although still not on ultra.



I see... :[ dont add me then.
QUOTE (The Colonel @ Jun 14 2010, 05:57 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Chill out faggot


#15
BlG_BALLS

BlG_BALLS
  • Members
  • 222 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:autoplay
What kinda scores do you get in say 3DMark06 etc?

With my current sys,I get a tad over 31,000 in 3Dmark06,all stock,no OCing.

#16
x_byakugan_x

x_byakugan_x

    holy shit I have a title

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,855 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Xbox / GFWL:alphaferret415
  • PSN:alpha-ferret_415
  • Wii:Memorized?
  • Rofl-Rupees:None
Only used 3dmark 2011, and I forgot the scores. I play BF3 on all low though...

QUOTE (Rickrolled @ Jan 10 2011, 04:02 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Love how the resident tough guy is happy to talk trash on an internet forum but back pedals as soon as he is called out. Typical coward. No doubt he'll respond to this with excessive bravado in order to restore his rightful place as a fully fledged internet badass.

I like to make werewolf...
MOVIES
bunny.jpg


#17
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Nov 7 2011, 12:23 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Only used 3dmark 2011, and I forgot the scores. I play BF3 on all low though...

3dmark always crashes on my new system icon_sad.gif

Not sure why, but I can't get through the demos. It works great for games so far though. The only thing I have issues with is MSAA because my vram is lower than it could be even though I have throughput for days.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.

#18
way2lazy2care

way2lazy2care
  • Members
  • 10,808 posts
  • Xbox / GFWL:way2lazy2care
  • PSN:A1R5N1P3R
QUOTE (x_byakugan_x @ Nov 7 2011, 12:23 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Only used 3dmark 2011, and I forgot the scores. I play BF3 on all low though...

3dmark always crashes on my new system icon_sad.gif

Not sure why, but I can't get through the demos. It works great for games so far though. The only thing I have issues with is MSAA because my vram is lower than it could be even though I have throughput for days.
SPAMBOTSTOOKOVERMYSITE D:
Give me LoL Referals.

QUOTE (Virus52 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
ALL HAIL THE GREAT AND MIGHTY MOTH!

QUOTE (SN3S @ May 6 2008, 08:27 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
No sensuality; this is all for fitness.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users